King of the Alps

The Swiss stone pine (also known as the arolla pine, Austrian stone pine or the "King of the Alps") grows on alpine terrain up to high altitudes. Its enormous resistance to frost enables the Swiss stone pine to tolerate the extremely harsh weather of mountainous regions, which can be withstood by hardly any other species. It is mainly found at altitudes of 1700 – 2200 metres above sea level, i.e. at the tree line, but occasionally even occurs at around 2800 m.
Together with the larch, the Swiss stone pine fulfils an essential protective function: its roots safeguard forests and valleys from avalanches, rock fall and landslides.

Usage and settlement of the Alps by man led to cultivation of the mountains for grazing, so encroaching on the habitat of the Swiss stone pine over the years. Thanks to sustainable forest management, the amount of timber from the stone pine now being produced exceeds current needs. Austria has some of the most stringent forestry legislation in the world. The company goodwood Holzhandel GmbH respectfully complies with these statutory provisions and sells timber which is certified by the PEFC (Programme for the Endorsement of Forest Certification). The common goal of sustainable forestry and certified trade is to safeguard and develop existing stocks of this species for current and future generations. This ensures that the resulting volumes of harvestable wood will cover the continuing boom in stone pine timber.

Scientific studies carried out by the companies Human Research GmbH in Weiz and Joanneum Research in Graz have confirmed for example that timber from the Swiss stone pine results in a lower heart rate with physical or mental exertion. A bed made of this wood ensures better sleep: the heart does not beat as fast and the blood circulation is also stabilised. Research shows that, on average, the heart rate will then be reduced by 3500 beats – this corresponds to an hour of work every day! So making you feel more rested, fit and healthy.

Our ancestors must intuitively have known about these benefits years ago: it is not a matter of chance that Swiss stone pine wood features prominently in the interior and exterior of buildings in the Alps. It can be found throughout the many traditional inns and farmhouses, often seen in bedrooms and used for beds and cradles.

Furniture and entire rooms made of solid Swiss stone pine cater for today's longing for relaxation and a slower pace of life. The positive effects of this species on our health and its delightful fragrance significantly contribute to a sense of well-being. The tourism and hospitality industry has meanwhile also realised this and is increasingly taking advantage of Swiss stone pine wood and its wonderful benefits. Nowadays this timber is often used to create entire spa areas.

Our company has focused on this fascinating species since the trend for the Swiss stone pine first came into being, and no other timber supplier can currently offer such extensive experience in this field. We stock a wide range of sawn wood from the Swiss stone pine in countless dimensions: kiln-dried for joineries and industry or fresh, for example aimed at trade and commerce.

Königin der Alpen

Die Zirbe (auch Arbe, Arve oder „Königin der Alpen“ genannt) wächst hoch hinauf ins alpine Gelände. Durch ihre enorme Frost-Resistenz besiedelt die Zirbe extrem dem Wetter ausgesetzte Gebirgsregionen, in welchen kaum eine andere Baumart auf Dauer bestehen könnte. Ihre Hauptverbreitung liegt in Meereshöhe von 1700 – 2200 Metern, also im Bereich der Waldgrenze. Einzelne Exemplare kommen sogar bis ca. 2800 Meter Höhe vor.
Zusammen mit der Lärche erfüllt die Zirbe im Alpenraum eine absolut wichtige Schutzfunktion. Denn ihre Wurzeln schützen Wald und auch Tal vor Lawinen, Steinschlag und Muren.

Die Nutzung und Besiedelung der Alpen durch den Menschen und die dadurch stark einsetzende Beweidung drängte die Zirbe über lange Zeiträume zurück. Dank nachhaltiger Forstwirtschaft wächst heute wieder mehr Zirbenholz nach, als verbraucht wird. In Österreich gibt es eines der strengsten Forstgesetze der Welt. Wir als Firma goodwood Holzhandel GmbH halten uns respektvoll an diese Vorschriften und verkaufen PEFC zertifiziertes Holz. Das gemeinsame Ziel der nachhaltigen Forstwirtschaft und des zertifizierten Handels ist es, die bestehenden Bestände an Zirbenholz für Generationen sicherzustellen und auszubauen. Somit deckt das anfallende erntefähige Holz den anhaltenden Zirbenholzboom ausreichend ab.

Wissenschaftliche Studien der Human Research GmbH in Weiz und des Joanneum Research in Graz belegen unter anderem, dass Zirbenholz bei körperlicher oder mentaler Anstrengung eine niedrigere Herzschlagrate bewirkt. So fördert das Schlafen in einem Zirbenholzbett die Erholung. Die Herzschläge werden reduziert und der Kreislauf stabilisiert. Laut Studien erspart sich das Herz so durchschnittlich 3500 Schläge. Das entspricht einer Stunde Arbeit pro Tag. Das Ergebnis ist, dass Frau oder Mann sich erholter, fitter, ausgeruhter und gesunder fühlt!

Intuitiv dürften unsere Vorfahren schon viel früher um die Wirkung der Zirbe gewusst haben, denn nicht umsonst ist das Zirbenholz tief im alpenländischem Baustil verwurzelt. Dies ist an den zahlreichen alten Gast- und Bauerstuben, Schlafzimmern, Betten und Kinderwiegen eindeutig zu erkennen.

So passen Möbel und ganze Zimmer aus massivem Zirbenholz genau in unsere heutige Zeit mit dem Verlangen nach Erholung und Entschleunigung. Denn die positiven Auswirkungen der Zirbe auf unsere Gesundheit und der angenehm wohltuende Duft tragen erheblich zu unserem Wohlbefinden bei. Fremdenverkehr und Hotellerie haben das inzwischen ebenfalls erkannt, denn immer öfter wird auch dort auf Zirbenholz und seine wunderbaren Eigenschaften gesetzt. Oftmals entstehen sogar gesamte Wellness-Bereiche aus Zirbenholz.

Wir befassen uns seit Beginn dieses Zirbentrends intensiv mit dieser faszinierenden Holzart. Wie kein anderer Holzlieferant können wir daher heute auf einen umfangreichen Erfahrungsschatz zurückgreifen. Sie finden bei uns Zirbenschnittholz in vielen verschiedenen Dimensionen auf Lager: kammertrocken für Tischlereien und Industrie oder aber auch frisch für z.B. den Handel.